The APICS CPIM program consists of five modules with two exams, one for Part 1 and one for Part 2.  Each module reflects critical areas in production and inventory management.

Part 1:

  • Module 1 – Basics of Supply Chain Management

Part 2:

  • Module 1 – Strategic Management of Resources
  • Module 2 – Master Planning of Resources
  • Module 3 – Detailed Scheduling and Planning
  • Module 4 – Execution and Control of Operations

Your investment will continue to reward your efforts; your certification goes where you go and leads to recognition and respect for your abilities as a supply chain professional.



CPIM is essential for professionals working in:

  • Production and inventory management
  • Operations
  • Supply chain management
  • Procurement
  • Materials management
  • Purchasing
  • Planning

Why you should earn the CPIM designation.

  • Increase your salary – on average designees see a 27% increase
  • Improve your hiring potential by 65%
  • Maximize ROI on systems and technologies
  • Reduce your organization’s costs
  • Provide more value to your organization
  • Build your credibility and set yourself apart from peers

How to earn the CPIM

Candidates must pass two exams (part 1 and Part 2) within 3 years to earn the CPIM certification, and are required to maintain the CPIM designation every five years.

We offer a variety of ways to prepare for your exam depending on your preferred method of learning.

  • Self-Study with the CPIM Learning System
  • Instructor-led classroom courses offered by APICS-recognized instructors worldwide

CPIM exam preparation

Your journey begins with the CPIM Learning Systems for Part 1 followed then by Part 2 exams.

The CPIM Learning System is a comprehensive preparation option that builds on your strengths and improves your knowledge.
Choose the learning option that works best for you, instructor-led classes or study independently at your own pace.
Take the exams. CPIM designees must successfully pass two exams to earn the CPIM certification.